# 1960 COMMUNICATIONS SQUADRON



### **MISSION**

## **LINEAGE**

1960 Communications Squadron was designated and organized, 1 Jan 1966 Redesignated 1960 Information Systems Squadron, 1 Dec 1984 Redesignated 1960 Communications Squadron, 1 Nov 1986

## **STATIONS**

Kirtland AFB, NM

## **ASSIGNMENTS**

Western Communications Region Southern Communications Area, 1 May 1970 Airlift Communications Division (later, Airlift Information Systems Division; Airlift Communications Division), 1 Jun 1981

#### **COMMANDERS**

Maj Richard K. Rathburn, 1973
Capt Lemar P. Craig, 22 May 1974
Maj Gerald T. Hager, 27 May 1974
Lt Col Robert H. Ludwig, 15 Jun 1976
Capt Gordon F. Jantz (Interim), 14 Jun 1978
Lt Col J. Leon Wilson, 7 Aug 1980
Lt Col Larry A. Robinson, 27 May 1983
Lt Col Stefan G. Wenska, 25 Jun 1987

Lt Col Dale C. Yeager, 30 Jun 1989

HONORS
Service Streamers

**Campaign Streamers** 

**Armed Forces Expeditionary Streamers** 

### **Decorations**

Air Force Outstanding Unit Award 1 Jul 1971-31 Dec 1972 1 Jan 1981-31 Dec 1982

### **EMBLEM**

The camera represents the closed circuit television (CCTV) section. The microphone represents the intrabase radio/military affiliated radio systems (MARS). The telephone represents both inside and outside plant, installing, testing and maintaining of all base telephone systems. The computer/data modem represents the service the squadron extends to different areas of the base which use the lines for computer/data transmissions.

**MOTTO** 

**NICKNAME** 

**OPERATIONS** 

\_\_\_\_\_

USAF Unit Histories Created: 25 Jun 2021

Updated:

Sources

Air Force Historical Research Agency. U.S. Air Force. Maxwell AFB, AL.

Major Command history. A Salute to Air Force Communications Command Leaders and Lineage. Office of Air Force Communications Command History. Scott AFB, IL. 1 Oct 1990.